Kennebec River Range Lights

Kennebec River Range LightsPhoto credit: Courtesy of the USCG Historian's Office

The Kennebec River, or Doubling Point, Range Lights were built in 1898. This station consists of two white, wooden octagonal towers containing special "range" reflector lights, along with a clapboard keeper's house. The two towers stand just 13 and 21 feet high respectively and are connected by a wooden walkway. Mariners heading north on the Kennebec use the two beacons to help them line up their ships before making a potentially treacherous turn. For more information, contact The Range Light Keepers.

Related Stories

24

You Might Like

4

EVENTS

09/24/2017

Lighthouse Legends, Lore & Haunts

Explore the legends and lore of Midcoast Maine's lighthouses, including a shore landing at…
11/11/2017

Rolling Slumber Bed Races

The 7th Annual Rolling Slumber Bed Races will take place on November 11th at 11 AM on Park Row,…
11/25/2017

Annual Tree Lighting Downtown Brunswick with Santa!

Ring in the season with neighbors and friends at Brunswick Downtown Association’s Annual Tree...
12/09/2017

North Pole Express at Boothbay Railway Village

Take a steam train ride to meet Santa, homemade cookies & hot cocoa, storytelling, make an ornament…
View All >